Read more than 3750 articles & interviews, see phantastic pictures of Live shows & other snapshots


Read Forum-Article


Taken from Resident Advisor (Mar 21, 2022)

KOKOROKO's debut album is inspired by Caribbean and West African music

Could We Be More is out August 5th on Brownswood Recordings.

by Katie Thomas

KOKOROKO. Courtesy Image
KOKOROKO. Courtesy Image

Eight-piece band KOKOROKO have announced their debut album, Could We Be More.

Out via Gilles Peterson's Brownswood Recordings label on August 5th, the LP builds on the London-based group's marriage of Afrobeat and improvised music. It's inspired by the West African and Caribbean music some of the band's members heard in church growing up. The first single, "We Give Thanks," is out now.

"We were imagining playing live with this one," KOKOROKO said about the track. "It's definitely written with that energy we get towards the end of a set. Some shows, like La Cigale in Paris or Paradiso in [Amsterdam] have legit felt magical for us and you always want to give that energy back. This is us trying to do that."

KOKOROKO's upcoming shows include Kala Festival in June and We Out Here in August.

Listen to "We Give Thanks."


01. Tojo
02. Blue Robe I
03. Ewa Inu
04. Age of Ascent
05. Dide O
06. Soul Searching
07. We Give Thanks
08. Those Good Times
09. Reprise
10. Home
11. War Dance
12. Could We Be More
13. Something's Going On
14. Outro
15. Blue Robe II

Brownswood Recordings will release Could We Be More on August 5th, 2022.
Label: Brownswood


Read Forum-Article


Check out my latest Playlist

Get external player here


Latest News
  Last Update: 2022-12-09 23:43


News Selector